Father’s Office: The Holy Grail of Hamburgers

Lindsay and I recently ate at Father’s Office (fathersoffice.com), a small eatery in Santa Monica.  Keep in mind that they don’t take reservations and the restaurant is really small.  We’ve been told that there’s usually a long wait, but because we eat on a Tuesday after class/work (around 5.45), we got lucky and walked right in.  Here’s what we ate:

Course 1: Sweet Potato Fries

Sweet Potato Fries

Lauren:  Our first course consisted of sweet potato fries with aioli.  I’m not always the biggest fan of sweet potato fries because I find them soggy sometimes, but Father’s Office sweet potato fries were crispy and salty and amazing.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m also not a huge fan of aioli either, but this aioli was great.  I believe it was a garlic & blue cheese aioli and it complimented the fries beautifully.  These are some of the best fries I’ve had in a while.

Lindsay:  I second that Lauren.  I live and die by sauces/condiments, a trait I surely inherited from my Mom.  This aioli was amazing times twenty!  I mean I would bathe in it if it was social acceptable.  The fries were crunchy on the outside and had just the right amount of moosh (a technical term) on the inside.  Hands down…the best fries, sweet potato or otherwise, I have ever had.

Course 2: Sobrasada

SobrasadaLindsay: Let’s talk melted manchego with sausage on toasted bread with the thinnest sliced onions you have ever seen.  Could there be a more winning combination?  Apparently the answer is yes.  This dish was devistatingly disappointing.  Flavor, where art thou?  I wanted so much to love you, eat you, devour you, but instead I had one bite, put it down, and went back to my lover, the sweet potato fries.  Sub this dish for another beer…just trust us on this one.

Lauren:  When this plate was described to us, we thought it sounded great, but when we got it, we found it lacking in a lot of flavor.  And yet, I still found it in my stomach to eat two of them.  Basically, this dish had crispy baguette topped with sausage and cheese.  The sausage was strangely lacking in flavor and was rather dry.  It would have been a lot better with more flavorful sausage.  Of course, I found the melted cheese to be amazing, but it’s rare that I’ve met a cheese I haven’t liked.  The onions were probably the best part of the dish, because they were light and could be eaten alone.

Course 3: The Burger of all Burgers

Burger

Lauren: This burger was pretty much the best burger that I’ve ever had.  It came with an aged beef patty, applewood smoked bacon, arugula, carmelized onions, blue cheese and Gruyère, all on a baguette.  Lindsay and I were able to split the burger (it was huge)!  The blue cheese and the carmelized onions provided so much flavor and the entire thing was melt in your mouth.  It was phenomenal.  I’ve talked to a lot of people and they really talked up this burger, so I already had the bar set high, but it truly exceeded expectations.

Lindsay: There is a reason people tell you to try this burger.  There is a reason that this burger has won awards.  There is a reason why your jeans will be a little snug the next day!  Yes folks, it’s the Father’s Office burger.  Let me start by saying, I adore carmelized onions.  ADORE!  I know anyone who reads this blog is fully aware that I have somewhat of a cheese obsession, if you will….so when you put 2 types of cheese, a heaping pile of the most gorgeous, deeply flavored carmelized onions, an aged beef patty, just a sprinkle of peppery arugula, and throw it in between no ordinary bun, you’ve got all the makings of the best gourmet burger known to man.  Delicious! 

The Verdict

Lindsay:  I will go as far as saying this burger and sweet potato fries need to be sampled by the whole of humanity.  Father’s Office is a must try (except the sobrasada) and I believe they have 2 locations, so there is no excuse not to partake in this indulgence.  Also, if you are any sort of beer lover/connoisseur you should definitely stop by.  Let’s just say when the beer menu is 15 times bigger than the food menu you know where this establishment’s passion really lies.  Two very passionate thumbs up!

Lauren:  I would definitely come back to Father’s Office, but only for the fries and the burger.  There were some other options on the menu, but I was so into the burger and fries that I don’t think I would stray from these options.  They also have a large selection of exotic and micro-brew beers, I tried the Unibroue, and it was great.  Happy eating!

L&L

Leave a Reply

